# ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE	Urgent Business Committee	
DATE	1 <sup>st</sup> November 2016	
LEAD OFFICER	Chief Executive	
TITLE OF REPORT	Local Government Boundary Commission Review – polling place changes	
REPORT NUMBER	OCE/16/037	
CHECKLIST COMPLETED	Yes	

#### 1. PURPOSE OF REPORT

The report brings before the Committee for its approval changes to polling place allocations following the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland's Fifth Statutory Review of Electoral Arrangements.

#### 2. RECOMMENDATION

That the Committee agrees the changed allocations outlined in the report.

3. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

The report has no financial implications.

4. OTHER IMPLICATIONS

The report deals with the requirement to address the implications of the Aberdeen City (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2016.

## 5. BACKGROUND/MAIN ISSUES

Following the Fifth Statutory Review of Electoral Arrangements, the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland presented their final recommendations for the Aberdeen City Council area to Scottish Ministers in May 2016.

The Aberdeen City (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2016 came into force on  $30^{th}$  September 2016 and applies to elections held on or after  $4^{th}$  May 2017.

The Order makes the following arrangements for wards within the Aberdeen City Council Area.

Ward Number	Name of Electoral Ward	Number of Councillors to be Returned
1	Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone	4
2	Bridge of Don	4
3	Kingswells/Sheddocksley/Summerhill	3
4	Northfield/Mastrick North	3
5	Hilton/Woodside/Stockethill	3
6	Tillydrone/Seaton/Old Aberdeen	3
7	Midstocket/Rosemount	3
8	George St/Harbour	4 (increase of 1)
9	Lower Deeside	3
10	Hazlehead/Queens Cross/Countesswells	4
11	Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee	3
12	Torry/Ferryhill	4
13	Kincorth/Nigg/Cove	4 (increase of 1)

## i) Ward Numbers, Names and Councillor Numbers

### ii) Boundary Changes and Recommendations

# a. Ward 1 (Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone) and Ward 2 (Bridge of Don)

Part of the polling district DG0106 (Danestone North) is moving to Ward 2 and effects 20 electors. The area involved is shaded in green on the Ward 2 map (attached). The part lies to the east of the unclassified road that runs from the Danestone A90/Laurel Drive roundabout to Whitestripes Road.

The recommendation is to merge the part of DG0106 with DG0201 (Jesmond). The 20 electors concerned would have their polling place moved from Danestone Congregational Church to Forehill Primary School.

# b. Ward 6 (Tillydrone/Seaton/Old Aberdeen) and Ward 8 (George Street/Harbour)

The whole polling district CN0606 (Pittodrie North) is moving from Ward 6 to Ward 8. There are 1378 electors in the polling district. There is no change to their polling place. CN0606 is shaded in green on the Ward 8 map (attached).

The recommendation is for CN0606 to be renumbered CN0809.

# c. Ward 9 (Lower Deeside) and Ward 10 (Hazlehead/Queens Cross/Countesswells)

Part of polling district SS0904 (Bieldside) with 33 electors and part of SS0906 (Cults East) with 15 electors are moving to Ward 10. The parts moving are shaded in green on the Ward 10 map (attached). The area involved lies mainly to the east of the Countesswells to Kingswells minor road and to the west of Hazlehead.

The recommendation is to merge the parts moved from Ward 9 with polling district SS1001 (Hazlehead). The 48 electors concerned would have their polling place moved from St Devenick's Church Hall (SS0904) and Cults Kirk Centre (SS0906) to Hazlehead Primary School.

### 6. IMPACT

The changes outlined above will impact directly 68 electors whose polling place will change as a result of the Review.

### 7. MANAGEMENT OF RISK

The report deals with the requirement to address the implications of the Aberdeen City (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2016.

### 8. BACKGROUND PAPERS

Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Fifth Statutory Review of Electoral Arrangements

### 9. REPORT AUTHOR DETAILS

David Gow Team Manager (Civic Support) <u>davidgow@aberdeencity.gov.uk</u> 01224 523881